skip to Main Content
NVTC Swears In 2017 Officers And New Commissioner
Outgoing NVTC chair Jay Fisette (not pictured) swears in (from left to right) Fairfax Supervisor Jeffrey McKay as NVTC chairman, Arlington Board Member Libby Garvey as a NVTC commissioner, and Loudoun Supervisor Matthew Letourneau as NVTC secretary-treasurer

NVTC Swears in 2017 Officers and New Commissioner

The Northern Virginia Transportation Commission elected its 2017 officers and welcomed a new Commissioner at its January 5 meeting. Fairfax County Lee District Supervisor Jeffrey McKay will serve as chairman, Alexandria City Council Member Paul Smedberg will serve as vice chairman, and Loudoun County Dulles District Supervisor Matthew Letourneau will serve as secretary-treasurer. Arlington County Board Member Libby Garvey is NVTC’s newest commissioner, replacing Jay Fisette, who served as NVTC chairman in 2016.

McKay, who previously served as NVTC chair in 2013, was appointed to the Commission in January, 2008, shortly after being elected to the Fairfax County Board of Supervisors. He currently chairs the county’s Transportation Committee and is vice chair of the Virginia Department of Rail and Public Transportation’s Transit Capital Project Revenue Advisory Board.

Fairfax Supervisor Jeffrey McKay, NVTC’s 2017 chairman, presents Arlington County Board Chairman and outgoing NVTC Chairman Jay Fisette with an award of appreciation for his service.

“With an ever-increasing focus on transit and transportation in general, this is a very important time to chair this commission,” said McKay. “Between the continued Metro safety oversight work and the massive transit enhancements we’re bringing to the Richmond Highway Corridor, there’s a lot happening in Northern Virginia. I’m looking forward to working with my colleagues from around the region to accomplish these high priority projects.”

Smedberg, NVTC’s vice chairman, joined the Commission as an alternate in 2005. Having served as NVTC secretary-treasurer in 2016 and chairman in 2014, he currently represents the Commonwealth on the Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority Board of Directors. Smedberg, first elected to the Alexandria City Council in 2003, is now in his fifth term.

Letourneau is the first Loudoun County Supervisor to serve as a NVTC officer, having joined the Commission in 2016. In addition to his position as NVTC secretary-treasurer, he also serves on the Metropolitan Washington Council of Governments (COG) Board of Directors, the Region Forward Coalition, the Dulles Area Transportation Association, and the Route 28 Transportation Improvement District Commission.

Garvey, elected to the Arlington County Board in 2012, just completed a one-year term as its chairman. Her 15-year tenure on the Arlington County School Board, included five years as chair.

Back To Top